Chubu region

Chubu region

Chubu literally means central, but the definition of Chubu is vague. Chubu area consisted of 3 areas along with the following prefectures.

Koshinetsu(甲信越)-Niigata(新潟), Nagano(長野), and Yamanashi(山梨)
Tokai(東海)-Aichi(愛知), Shizuoka(静岡), and Gifu(岐阜)
Hokuriku(北陸)-Toyama(富山), Ishikawa(石川), and Fukui(福井)

The region’s capital is Nagoya(名古屋) in Aichi prefecture with Nagoya International Airport (NGO/中部国際空港), which is also known as Centrair (セントレア), one hour by train from Nagoya city.
If you are visiting this area, then you have to know what you really want to do, because the area has a lot of different attractions such as mountain, hot spring, traditional Japanese countryside and so on.

Area Map

Explore Chubu region