Useful for travel

Is Saizeriya in Japan Halal? We checked their menus and ingredients for you.

A restaurant that made Italian food more familiar for Japanese.

Saizeriya (サイゼリヤ) is an Italian restaurant in Japan. The restaurant offers wide variety of Italian foods at very reasonable price, which would definitely make you feel their quality does not much the price at all. Except for some regions in Kyushu and Shikoku, they have so many branches. If there is any Halal or Muslim-friendly menu, your journey to Japan will be much easier.

The restaurant is not declared as Halal or Muslim-friendly, so obviously their meat is not Halal. However, there are so many menus that are using only vegetable and seafood, so we have checked their ingredients on your behalf. Or you can check the most updated allergen information of Saizeriya at this page, there is also English site!

Is their any dish that does not contain meat or gelatin?

Yes, there are quite a lot of dishes that has no meat or gelatin!


To our surprise, there is even Chinese language available!

As the list of allergens does not have Alcohol category, we cannot eliminate the use of alcoholic seasonings. Excluding the menu items that may have alcohol, we have listed the food items that will not have neither meat nor alcohol below.


  • Shrimp Salad
  • Seaweed Salad
  • Green Salad
  • Green Salad with Buffalo Mozzarella cheese
  • Refreshing Carrot Salad
  • Shrimp with Saizeriya Dressing
  • Green Peas with Pecorino Cheese and Egg

Soup / Bread / Rice

  • Creamy Corn Soup
  • Mini Ficelle
  • Petit Foccacias / Cinnamon Sugar has Gelatin, be careful.
  • Cheese Focaccia
  • Rice /Turmeric rice


  • Boiled Broccoli
  • Asparagus with Pecorino Cheese
  • Popcorn Shrimp
  • Crispy Potatoes

Pizza / Pasta

  • Pizza Margherita
  • Olive & Anchovy Margherita Pizza
  • Pizza with Triple Buffalo Mozzarella Cheese
  • Pizza with Mushrooms & Vegetable Salsa
  • Spaghetti Pomodoro*
  • Spaghetti Pomodoro* with Pecorino Cheese
  • Penne Arrabbiata*
  • Spaghetti Arrabbiata*
  • Spaghetti Peperoncino
  • Spaghetti Peperoncino with soft-boiled egg

We have excluded dessert items as many of them can contain liquor and emulsifier. Pasta / Spaghetti with Tomato sauce may have small portion of alcohol for seasoning like red wine, which could have evaporated.

So, are they all Halal or Muslim-friendly?

As you can see, there are so many menus that do not have meat and probably alcohol! Then, are they all Halal or Muslim-friendly?

Although we are here to only translate the label and it is your discretion to find out what is Halal, what we have to remind you is the risk of contamination. In Saizeriya’s official website, they clearly mention this.


This means that kitchen and utensils are all shared, and the risk of contamination cannot be denied.

Use your own discretion!

The great thing about Saizeriya is that they clearly show us what is included in their menu, along with the risk of contamination. We hope the information we have provided will be useful for you.

Information as of May 2023.  We are here to translate the label to help you judge if you consume the food or not.  There is a risk of contamination, which we cannot be responsible of.